Dog Food

While I originally fantasized about feeding Betsy raw, I ultimately decided that it was too expensive and, after researching everything involved, realized it was a lot of effort to make sure she was getting a properly balanced diet. I might eventually still try it, but for now at least, I ended up researching a bunch on Dog Food Advisor to find a good alternative.

Betsy and I on a hike by the ocean where the fish in her dog food is caught ;) Look at her sit-stay! Such a good girl.

Betsy and I on a hike by the ocean where the fish in her dog food is caught 😉 Look at her sit-stay! Such a good girl.

I ended up having to decide between two: Acana and Orijen. At the moment we’re feeding Acana because it’s a bit cheaper, and from my understanding, Orijen can be nutrition overkill unless your dog is extremely active. Since they’re both made by the same company, I’m sure they’re both equally awesome, and DFA seems to agree. PLUS they’re Canadian, and most of their fish is caught right near our house, so it feels like we’re feeding Betsy local food. (I’m sure she doesn’t care one iota about this but I’m a crazy pet owner and excited for her anyway.)

I’m ALSO super excited for when Betsy can stop eating boring old puppy food and I can start rotating her through the various Acana Regionals. (I know. She won’t even notice the difference, right? I’m nuts. But there’s something fun about reading the ingredients on the various regional foods and imagining feeding Betsy all these tasty meats.)

Leave a comment